‘Til You Drop!

June 4, 2007 at 11:34 am 1 comment

More fun eShopping for booklovers, with a huge hat tip to Kimbooktu for leading me to the British Library and Bodleian Library online shops!

First, though: if you’re going to go shopping, you’ll need a good bag for all your purchases.

detail_21301020

You have to admire the subtlety of something like these bookends. So obvious, and yet so rarely seen! They’d be practically invisible on the shelf. My only criticism is that they are volumes 1 and 2, but would never be shelved adjacent to one another – a dead giveaway that something was amiss.

If you remember the old Penguin classics, you’ll probably get as much of a kick out of these bags, pencils, and household items

L_Penguin_OrangeBag L_Penguin_Pencils d1_Penguin_TeaTowel_Woolf

I love bookplates, but hate that they come in tiny little expensive packages. Personally, it’s all about buying the package of Avery labels, designing my own plates, and printing them off by the hundred. That doesn’t mean I don’t like a good bookplate when I see one, though…

I think your boss and/or professor would have to have an awfully good sense of humor to risk this particular trick, but they are hilarious. They’re book covers to put over a “regular” book (hey, is my Book Cloak invention being infringed upon? Where’s my patent lawyer?) to make it more… interesting.

phoney_book_covers

This will I send, and something else more plain,
That shall express my true love’s fasting pain…

L_ShakespeareJewellery_KatherineEarrings

My husband and I went to Washington D.C. on our honeymoon and toured the National Cathedral. Their gift shop has some beautiful things, including this ring that I just love. Not only do I really like the message, but it is beautifully and practically designed. The inner design spins around so you can read the entire message without rotating the actual ring on your finger.

MS-107000

Speaking of jewelry, I have and love this bracelet. Highly recommended.

When it comes to your love of books, it can be hard to wear your heart on your sleeve while being fashionable. This website has a number of cute shirts and other garments, many of which are definitely aimed at elementary school teachers, but there are some that would appeal to a wider audience. Below, I’ve included two examples; the red one just makes me giggle, so I had to share.

Another site that sells bibliophile-appropriate clothing, but seriously needs a website makeover, is here. They’re worth a visit if only for the possibility of having a shirt imprinted thusly:

Untitled-1

And finally, http://www.thinkgeek.com/clearance/tshirtsapparel/8f5d/ that just screams my name:

blogito

An addendum, because you can never have too much flair :
button
Entry filed under: Shopping.

Make your own Book Cloak! Acquiring Minds

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Lesley  |  June 11, 2007 at 10:11 pm

    Oh man, I am SO showing my husband this post the next time he asks for gift ideas, haha.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Return to home.

Add to Technorati Favorites

Feeds

June 2007
S M T W T F S
« May   Jul »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930

