Breath Deeply

August 13, 2007 at 2:46 pm 3 comments

Thanks to Kapachino for posting this extremely telling and true quotation by Mr. C.S. Lewis (emphasis mine):

Those of us who have been true readers all our life seldom fully realise the enormous extension of our being which we owe to authors. We realise it best when we talk with an unliterary friend. He may be full of goodness and good sense but he inhabits a tiny world. In it, we should be suffocated. The man who is contented to be only himself, and therefore less a self, is in prison. My own eyes are not enough for me, I will see through those of others. Reality, even seen through the eyes of many, is not enough. I will see what others have invented….

[I]n reading great literature I become a thousand men and yet remain myself. Like the night sky in the Greek poem, I see with a myriad eyes, but it is still I who see. Here, as in worship, in love, in moral action, and in knowing, I transcend myself; and am never more myself than when I do.

Entry filed under: Quotes, Reading.

Uncommonly Good Shopping Every Writer – or Blogger – Needs One of These

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. silverfoot  |  December 19, 2007 at 4:01 am

    i do love this quote…

    (don’t mind me, just catching up!)

    Reply
  • 2. Andy  |  December 19, 2007 at 3:06 pm

    Oh, and did not know about it. Thanks for the information …

    Reply
  • 3. Anastasiaprostia  |  March 30, 2009 at 10:44 am

    Hey 🙂

    Amazing weight loss stories here,
    And here you can buy Anatrim
    http://www.zmeii.com/?toxaawgjgw

    I’ve always had trouble with my weight ever since I was young. Of course I tried all the “best” fat loss products, nothing helped very much. It wasn’t til I tried Anatrim that I saw the pounds seriously start to melt away! Nothing helped me lose weight faster. I literally saw 15 pounds melt away within the first few weeks! There’s nothing more exciting than watching pounds disappear, especially when you’ve tried all sorts of different methods and products before. I’ve since read up on Anatrim and am amazed at the number of people who have benefited from its amazing results. I’m halfway to my goal, Anatrim will get me the rest of the way 😉

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Return to home.

Add to Technorati Favorites

Feeds

August 2007
S M T W T F S
« Jul   Sep »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

